Tuesday, 4 February 2014

Van Canto release fifth album, Dawn of the Brave - February 2014

German a cappella metal band Van Canto release their fifth studio album on the 10th February. Dawn of the Brave features 9 original compositions and 4 covers (including The Final Countdown, Holding out for a Hero, Into the West and Black Sabbaths, Paranoid).

Van Canto also have one UK date on the Dawn of the Brave tour. Sadly it is in London, but as is proper and correct, I will be heading down south to catch them on the 2nd April at The Underworld, Camden.

The band have released a teaser video which provides a snippet from each of the tracks on the album:

They also released the official video for the awesome Badaboom in December:

If you haven't experienced Van Canto before I whole heartedly recommend that you do. The band are made up of five singers and 1 drummer. Three of the vocalists use their voices to imitate guitars and bass. Their music is classic heavy, power and symphonic metal in style and features both male and female lead vocals.

They are an incredible band and I cannot wait to see them live in April.

Band Members:

Dennis Schunke (Sly) – lead vocals
Inga Scharf – lead vocals (effects)
Stefan Schmidt – lower rakkatakka vocals, wahwah solo guitar vocals (rhythm, lead on solos)
Ross Thompson – higher rakkatakka vocals (lead)
Ingo Sterzinger (Ike) – lowest dandan vocals (bass)
Bastian Emig – drums