Monday, 14 April 2014

StOrk to release second album Broken Pieces - April 2014

StOrk started life as a thrash metal/progressive rock instrumental band, founded by Korn's touring guitarist Shane Gibson and drummer Thomas Lang back in 2011.  Since the release of their self-titled first album, they have added Kelly LeMieux on bass and VK Lynne on vocals.

VK Lynne is a prolific artist writing and singing for symphonic rock band From Light Rose The Angels as well as working with Vita Nova and Glittermortis, a web-based project with Mary Zimmer of White Empress called Trading on 15, which she wrote and directed. She is the founding member of Eve's Apple, a collective of professional female rock, metal, and gothic singers and also has time for her own solo work as well.

The new StOrk album Broken Pieces, was part-funded through an Indiegogo campaign.  Although they did not reach their target, the new album has been recorded and will be released in the UK on 29th April 2014. There is also going to be an exclusive fan pre-release of signed copies from their website on April 15th.

The album was mixed by Dan Monte (Guns n Roses/Metallica) and mastered by Maor Applebaum (Halford/Adrenaline Mob).  The album art was created by famed dark artist Sam “Mr. Sam” Shearon.

Paper Angels is the first track to be released from the album.  It starts with a a deceptively delicate intro that develops into an onslaught of drums, guitars and bass. Check it out on Soundcloud:

The album can be bought directly from their website when it becomes available here.