Monday, 9 June 2014

New Release: Anathema - Distant Satellites (June 2014)

Today is the day that British progressive rock band Anathema release their tenth studio album - Distant Satellites. Anathema started life as a death/doom band and touched upon a Gothic sound throughout the years, however, Anathema are now firmly placed as one of the greatest progressive rock bands of our time.

The current line up includes brothers Vincent Cavanagh (lead vocals, electric guitars, acoustic guitars, bass guitars, keyboards, programming, backing vocals) and Daniel Cavanagh (co-lead vocals, electric guitars, acoustic guitars, bass guitars, keyboards, piano) along with Lee Douglas (lead vocals, co-lead vocals, backing vocals), John Douglas (e-drums, percussion, keyboards, programming), Daniel Cardoso (drums) and Christer-André Cederberg (bass guitar, producer, mixing).

Distant Satellites features ten tracks:

The Lost Song, Part 1
The Lost Song, Part 2
Dusk (Dark Is Descending)" (D. Cavanagh, Vincent Cavanagh)
The Lost Song, Part 3
You're Not Alone (D. Cavanagh, Jamie Cavanagh, John Douglas)
Distant Satellites (D. Cavanagh, Douglas)
Take Shelter

The album art was created by Korean new media artist Sang Jun Yoo and is based around his Distant Light Installation.

The band released this statement about their new album:

"distant satellites is the culmination of everything ANATHEMA been working up to so far in our musical path. It contains almost every conceivable element of the heartbeat of Anathema music that it is possible to have. There is beauty, intensity, drama, quietude, and extra musical dimensions that the band have previously only hinted at. All built on the song writing chemistry of Daniel, John and Vincent - and the haunting voice of Lee Douglas."

Now, you might have seen on Facebook that I posted a link to a full stream of the album before it's release. and this can still be accessed here.  If you have heard enough and just want to get your hands on this incredible bands new album, it can be bought from here.

Follow the band:


Originally posted by Emma Sheridan to Femetalism.