Wednesday, 13 August 2014

New Release: MindShade - Asylum of the Fallen

MindShade are a metal band from The Netherlands who combine Mezzo Soprano vocals with grunts.  The band were formed in 2007 and currently consist of Nienke Verboom on vocals, Jeroen van Noort on bass and grunts, Norbert Veenbrink and Eli de Kruijf on guitars and Mischa van der Hout on drums.

Asylum of the Fallen was released in May 2014 and contains 8 songs plus an intro and outro.  Each song tells the story of one of the patients in a mental hospital.  It was recorded, mixed and mastered in 2013/2014 at SBL Music Productions.

Asylum of the Fallen track listing:

Enter the asylum (intro)
Planet Icarus
Don’t walk astray
Carnival of fools
Abyss of twilight
Restrained in solitude
Fire demon
In life or death
Back to society (outro)

This is a great album where every song greets you with that dark and eerie feeling you imagine from a lunatic asylum.  Jeroen's sinister grunts and Nienke's emotive vocals combined with the chugging guitar riffs, the full, deep bass guitar and the striking drum beat make this a really comprehensive and incredibly likable album, despite it's uncomfortable subject matter.

You can listen to the full album on Soundcloud:

and you can purchase it from here as well as digitally from iTunes.

Follow the band:


Originally posted by Emma Sheridan on Femetalism.