Monday, 29 September 2014

New Release: White Empress - Rise Of The Empress (29th September 2014)

White Empress released their first album, Rise Of The Empress, on 29th September. The album, entirely funded by a Pledge Music campaign, is the band's debut release after a free-to-download four track EP.

White Empress was formed by ex-Cradle Of Filth guitarist Paul Allender after his relocation to Minneapolis. Inviting other local musicians to join the band led to the formation of White Empress, with Mary Zimmer of Luna Mortis on vocals. Paul, via the Pledge campaign, says this about the band:
"White Empress is the link the music scene has been so desperately missing. The band started writing together two years ago and have slowly crafted the sound that is White Empress. White Empress has all the best parts of the metal scene rolled up in to one band. The music is hard, but emotive. White Empress’ unique style and sound stands is bringing the fresh life to the music scene that its been crying out for.”

Completing the line-up is Will Graney (Damnation Angels) on keyboard, Chela Harper (Coal Chamber) on bass, Jeremy Kohnmann (The Awakening) on guitar and drummer Zac Morris. An all-star cast indeed, and setting expectations high! A teaser of the new album is available in the form of a video for Darkness Encroaching.

The band's various influences and styles are evident, from the CoF inspired heavy, driving guitar, gothic electronic parts, orchestral elements and of course Mary's hugely diverse range. From hard rock to death growl to operatic vocal styles, the vocal performance never fails to impress. Rise Of The Empress has been recorded in the band’s own studio and was mixed and mastered by producer Kit Woolven. The album will be released on Peaceville Records.

The full track list is as follows:
  1. Rise of the Empress
  2. The Congregation
  3. A Prisoner Unleashed
  4. Darkness Encroaching
  5. Sven's Tower
  6. Erased and Rewritten
  7. The Ecstatic and the Sorrow
  8. Dethroned
  9. Obsession with the Empress (Human to Divine)
  10. Ours To Burn
  11. Exile (The Empress Returns)
  12. Fall of the Old Guard
A Prisoner Unleashed has been released as single and can be streamed for free from the Peaceville Soundcloud page, or just by clicking play below:

Rise Of The Empress can be ordered from the usual music outlets.

Follow the band here:


Originally posted on Femetalism by Craig Andrews.