Tuesday, 21 October 2014

New Release: Vehemal - The Atom Inside

Montreal-based black metallers Vehemal released their debut album, The Atom Inside, in September this year.

Vehemal were formed by guitarist Marie-Josée Sévigny and vocalist Martine Bourque with the idea to write music from a feminist perspective. Drums on the record were performed by Sarah Lecompte-Bergeron, guitar by Daniel Simard, and bass by Anya Hallmich. Since then the line-up has changed, bringing in Guillaume Beaupré on bass, Keven Cabana on drum and Alexander L on guitar.

The band's sound combines the vocals and ferocity of black metal with clear, intricate riffs that barely slow down for a moment.

Vehemal has their own, rather enigmatic, description of the album that reads as follows:
We are of atoms and Milky way, guided by the violence and the intensity of the Universe. The dark matter holding our fragmented humanity together. We are the crude mirror showing the failure of our existence. We come to avenge our infinite potential and from it's exposed guts, we will dirt the guilty face of mankind. We are Vehemal.
The full track listing of the album is:

  1. Les particules élémentaires
  2. Progéniture échouée
  3. Cosmic Collision
  4. Univers zéro
  5. La relativité nébuleuse
  6. Milky Way
  7. Avenge the Earth
  8. The Atom Inside
  9. Les synapses planétaires

The album can be purchased via Bandcamp or via the Vehemal's own website. It's worth checking out if you love powerful black metal with a distinctive, crisp edge.  The whole album has this feeling of greatness about it that I cannot articulate into words.  It's just really good.

Have a listen to Univers Zéro, from the album and see for yourself:

You can follow the band via:


Original posted on Femetalism by Craig Andrews.