Monday, 17 November 2014

New Release: Ascending Dawn - Coalesce (November 2014)

Hailing from 3 corners of the globe, Ascending Dawn bring their melodic prog-metal to us in the shape of debut album Coalesce.  The band, fronted by Greek/Cypriot pop/rock singer Marlain Angelides began in London, UK in 2013 with Mark Weatherley on drums and guitars, Owen Rees on guitars and Constanze Hart on bass.

Coalesce is made up of nine tracks, mixed and mastered by Jochem Jacobs (ex-Textures) at Split Second Sound:
  1. All in Now
  2. Miscommunication
  3. Cannonball
  4. Integral
  5. Opposites
  6. Simplify
  7. Inside the Silence
  8. Opaque
  9. Indiscretion

The band released the first single from the album, Cannonball earlier this year which mixes up flowing riffs and sombre lyrical lines. It's incredibly catchy - check out the lyric video here:

The album as a whole is solidly progressive with a good marriage between the pop influences of Marlain and the progressive metal riffs from the rest of the band.  It's a great album which is now available now from Bandcamp for a name your price fee:

Follow the band on:


Originally posted by Emma Sheridan on Femetalism.