Wednesday, 5 November 2014

New Release - Season of Ghosts - The Human Paradox

Season of Ghosts is a groundbreaking music project, dedicated to the love of the unseen, and film soundtracks. Conceived by Greek singer-songwriter, Sophia Aslanidou (previously of Blood Stain Child), the project came to life in October of 2013 and the highly anticipated debut concept album, The Human Paradox, is set to be released in December 2014.

Season of Ghosts combine extreme rock and metal sounds, harsh electronics and powerful, compelling vocals, through the eerie spectrum of a Sci-Fi, horror movie. Sophia is in charge of composition, lyrics and co-production and handles both melodic and distorted vocals in a unique, storytelling atmosphere, that is bound to captivate audiences around the globe.

Sophia, who was born in Caracas, Venezuela and grew up in Thessaloniki, Greece, put herself on the music map as the singer of Blood Stain Child (Japan). In just a short time, she managed to become one of the most acknowledged female vocalists within the Japanese metal industry, known not only for her work with Blood Stain Child, but also for a number of esteemed collaborations.

In 2010, Sophia moved to Japan to start her music career, bringing her international perspective and know-how to Blood Stain Child and together they recorded the band’s 5th studio album, Epsilon, which still is their best seller to date. They toured extensively in Japan, America and Europe until Sophia’s departure for professional and personal reasons.

It's probably worth mentioning (given our love of Ghibli) that Sophia was involved in the Imaginary Flying Machines project and sang in the Princess Ghibli albums.  If you haven't come across these before they feature innovative metal covers of Studio Ghibli anime soundtracks!

The Human Paradox will include 12 tracks:
  1. Nothing Disappears Without a Trace
  2. Genesis – The Phoenix Syndrome 
  3. Time Travellers
  4. Dream: Paralysis 
  5. The Human Paradox
  6. [NE]: Mesis– The Kiss of Justice  
  7. Beautiful Eternal Things 
  8. Dreaming in the Gray Lands
  9. The Road to Acheron 
  10. Quantum - Through the Looking Glass 
  11. Reincarnation
  12. There and Back Again
Check out the album Preview:

Follow Sophia on:


Plus keep an eye on the site as we are pretty excited about  interviewing Sophia in the not too distant future!

Originally posted by Emma Sheridan on Femetalism.