Tuesday, 13 January 2015

New Release: Dead Light Shines - Fall To Rise (December 2014)

Modern Progressive metal band Dead Light Shines hail from Phoenix, AZ and are made up of Stephen Mallicoat on drums, Norm Wall on guitars and arrangements, Kelly Morales on bass and Janette Martyn on vocals.  They released their debut album Fall To Rise at the end of 2014 after a decade of effort on the part of Norm and Kelly, working with their past members and also guest musicians. The result is an album rich and delicate showcasing each musician individually whilst also blending them perfectly together. There are some really lovely catchy elements and the progressive influence is evident throughout.  My favourite tracks are Lost in You and Too Deep.

The album was recorded with Bree Cole on vocals for tracks 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7, Shania Rock-Wall on vocals for tracks 8, 10 and 11 and Greg Norris of Codec on vocals for track 12.  Jeremy Wall was the drummer in the studio and Dan Barnhart also of Codec provided keys and synths.

Track Listing:
  1. Vernus (Intro)
  2. Where I Belong
  3. The Descent
  4. Call to Prayer (Intro)
  5. Lost in You
  6. Better On My Own
  7. Even If I Die
  8. My Final Fight
  9. The Shadow (Intro)
  10. In the Dark
  11. Gates of Hell
  12. Too Deep
Grab a copy of the album from CDBaby or iTunes.

Follow the band on:


Originally posted by Emma Sheridan on Femetalism.