Sunday, 1 March 2015

New Release: A Forest Of Stars - Beware The Sword You Cannot See

Victorian avant-garde black metal stalwarts A Forest Of Stars have released their new album, Beware The Sword You Cannot See. The fourth full length from the band, this release is a high quality production that embodies the best of the band's unique, ethereal sound.

The album is built around the concept of enforced victimhood, of being beaten down and cursed, but resisting anyway in spite of the futility of the situation. It is about being trapped in situations that cannot be changed and forging through the pain. It is split into two sections, the latter half being numbered chapters that seem to be a tale of woe and, maybe redemption.

The band's trademark sound of a mix of swirling blackened metal with spoken word, screams and growls lends the whole album a feel of the raging, muddled psyche of a madman. The production quality is higher than earlier albums and the range of instruments and styles shines through wonderfully.

The album is available from, Bandcamp or any of the usual music retailers. There is a beautifully produced vinyl edition as well as a special edition that comes in a rather amazing box with hand-made elements and full of goodies, ranging from postcards and posters to a small, corked vial of tea.

The track listing of Beware The Sword looks like this:

  • Drawing Down The Rain
  • Hive Mindless
  • A Blaze of Hammers
  • Virtus Sola Invicta
  • Proboscis Master Versus The Powdered Seraphs
  • Part I: Mindslide
  • Part II: Have You Got A Light, Boy?
  • Part III: Perdurabo
  • Part IV: An Automaton Adrift
  • Part V: Lowly Worm
  • Part VI: Let There Be No Light
There have been two videos released from the album, and both are included here. The first is the opening track, Drawing Down The Rain, and the second is a lyric video for Virtus Sola Invicta.

You can follow A Forest Of Stars on:

Originally posted by Craig Andrews on Femetalism.