Sunday, 28 June 2015

New Release: Bleeding Tears - The Fall of Lucifer (Single) - June 2015

After a long period of composing, recording and mixing in the studio, Venezuelan metal band Bleeding Tears have just announced the official release of their first single The Fall of Lucifer from their upcoming new EP.

Monday, 22 June 2015

Fire At Dawn - EP (2014)

Fire At Dawn are a 5 piece hard rock band from Southend, Essex. A hard working band who within the first 3 months of their formation had amassed a sizeable fan base.  In 2014, the band released a 5 song self-titled EP.

The music is fiery, passionate and haunting with catchy guitar riffs spiced with dazzling chords. The EP is modern, hard rock at its best, with tracks that could easily crossover into both underground and mainstream musical arenas. The lyrics are haunting and eerie and the vocals soft, yet gritty.

Track Listing:
  1. Bad Trip
  2. Choose Me
  3. Light
  4. On Me
  5. Run

Saturday, 20 June 2015

New Release: The Hillinoise - My Sleeping Butterfly (June 2015)

Coming from the South of Italy, alternative gothic rock band The Hillinose have just released their new 3 track EP My Sleeping Butterfly. With a distinctive dark-wave, post-rock feel and featuring soft vocals surrounded by a rock solid wall of distorted guitar riffs, My Sleeping Butterfly continues on from the bands debut EP Sorriso Plastico released in January.

Track Listing:

Sleeping Beauty

Friday, 19 June 2015

New Release: At Dawn's Edge - First Contact (May 2015)

Canadian based metal band At Dawn's Edge released their 3 track EP First Contact in May this year. Incorporating symphonic, progressive, djent, electronica and metal influences, First Contact is a fantastic debut from this exciting new band.

Track Listing:
  1. Venus's Rapture
  2. Utter
  3. From The Ashes

Thursday, 11 June 2015

New Release: yaKu - yaKu EP (June 2015)

A project that first came to my attention back in February when they shared their EP Preview with us, yaKu is a growing music project based in London, UK. A two-piece band - one female, one male, who each write, play and produce their music, using multiple instruments, amplifiers and pedals to bring their unique sound.

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

New Release: Vesperith - Esoteros EP (May 2015)

Finnish singer-songwriter Sariina Tani’s band Vesperith, released their self-published debut EP Esoteros online in May 2015. Vesperith blends deep, dark atmospheres in sweet soaring moments and fierce waves of metal. Sariina Tani sings beautiful melodies and raw screams to bring dynamics and contrast to Vesperith's mesmerising atmosphere.

Sariina Tani is an singer-songwriter from Tampere, Finland. Sariina writes lyrics and composes songs for Vesperith and the band's guitarist Jaakko Oksanen arranges the music for instruments. Vesperith also combines Sariina’s skills as an artist and her wish to create worlds in people's imagination.

Tuesday, 9 June 2015

New Release: Dead Light Shines - Face Your Fears EP (June 2015)

Modern Progressive metal band Dead Light Shines hail from Phoenix, AZ and are made up of Stephen Mallicoat on drums, Norm Wall on guitars and arrangements, Kelly Morales on bass and Janette Martyn on vocals.  They released their debut album Fall To Rise at the end of 2014 and this month sees the release of their brand new EP - Face Your Fears.

Thursday, 4 June 2015

Heonia and Dakesis confirmed for final Valkyrian Festival 2015

French melodic metallers Heonia have been confirmed, alongside Birmingham based progressive power metal quartet Dakesis, to appear on the Valhalla Stage at the final edition of Valkyrian Festival. News Femetalism is very excited about!

Heonia and Dakesis will be playing alongside the likes of blackened doom tyrants Severed Heaven as well as Victorian-styled steam punks A Clockwork Opera and dark power metal unit Winter Storm. The bands are also in the process of organising a few UK dates around the time of the festival.

Wednesday, 3 June 2015

UMA Compilation 2015 is online and available to download NOW!

Femetalism associates Underground Metal Alliance (UMA) have just released their 2015 promotional compilation album featuring some of the best underground metal. Some of the bands were chosen by fans, others by the UMA jury; including members of Exilia, Sadist, Nanowar and managers of studios and festivals, and other bands were chosen as they are already part of the UMA roster.

Monday, 1 June 2015

Black Mass & Femetalism Presents ... Part 2 - Photo Roundup

Sunday 31st May and we were down at South Sea Live, Sheffield for the second instalment of Black Mass and Femetalism Presents ...

Although there were some hiccups at the last minute with some bands having to change their venue and others having issues with health and family, we did at one point wonder if the night would go ahead at all. But go ahead it did and what a night! All of the bands, some of which travelled a very long way, put on fantastic performances and really pulled off a wonderful evening of music. Our apologies to the bands who were affected with the issues surrounding the evening, we really hope that we will see you in Sheffield again soon.

Here is our very quick photo round up, showcasing some of the photos taken of the evening. You can see the full set on the photos page.