Friday, 27 May 2016

New Release: Abnormality - Mechanisms of Omniscience (April 2016)

Massachusetts-based extreme metal outfit Abnormality released their sophomore full-length, Mechanisms of Omniscience, on April 29th worldwide via Metal Blade Records. Marrying the ceaseless brutality coming out of New York and New England to the hyper-blasting intensity endemic to Quebecois death metal, Mechanisms of Omniscience is as unrelenting as it is passionate, and the album tackles real world issues with intelligence and raw emotion.

Check out the video for the title track from the album which was directed and produced by Jim Foster of Red 13 Media


Synthetic Pathogenesis
Mechanisms of Omniscience
Catalyst of Metamorphosis
Vigilant Ignorance
Hopeless Masses
Cymatic Hallucinations
Consuming Infinity

Formed in 2005, Abnormality drew its members from the ranks of units such as Teratism, Forced Asphyxiation, Goratory and Sexcrement, and they have worked patiently and persistently to build up a grassroots following, maintaining their integrity while steadily expanding beyond their local scene. In 2010, they released their debut EP, The Collective Calm In Mortal Oblivion, which immediately drew attention in the underground, followed by the crushing and critically acclaimed full-length, Contaminating The Hive Mind (2012), cementing their status as one of the heaviest and most dynamic bands in the genre.

Now, with their sophomore effort, Mechanisms of Omniscience - produced once again by Peter Rutcho, and featuring artwork by vocalist Mallika Sundaramurthy - the quintet have never been more serious about getting their message out there, as well as ensuring legions of the moshing masses incur whiplash. You can read more about the band in an Extreme Thursday feature we did of the band in 2014.

Follow the band:

Originally posted by Emma Sheridan on Femetalism.